Vahid Halilhodzic unveils his list of summoned players

2 minutes, 28 seconds Read


As the CAN 2021 qualifiers approach, the coach of the national team, Vahid Halilhodzic has unveiled his list of summons for the next gathering of the Atlas Lions.

Vahid Halilhodzic has a few surprises in store in his roster, which include several Botola players who shone in Morocco’s victory in the African Nations Championship.

During a press conference held at the Mohammed VI Football Center in Maamoura, the coach explained his choices for the 24 players who will take part in the two matches counting for the 5th and 6th round of qualifying (group E) of the 33rd. edition of the CAN against Mauritania and Burundi.

In addition, despite the prohibition of European clubs to release their players, the Bosnian technician has chosen to call on the pioneers of the selection such as Hakim Ziyech, Achraf Hakimi, Ghanem Saiss or Sofyan Amrabat.

The locals are not left out since their precious victory at CHAN allowed them to claim a place in the national team, like the players of Raja de Casablanca, Anas Zniti and Soufiane Rahimi and those of Wydad of Casablanca, Ayoub El Kaabi and Yahya Jabrane.

New faces will make their first steps within the selection, wearing for the first time the jersey of the selection in the image of Adam Masina. Also note the return of Osama Tannane and the expected arrival of Munir El Haddadi, finally authorized to represent Morocco in the selection.

The Atlas Lions will travel to Nouakchott on March 26 to challenge the Mauritanian selection (20:00 GMT + 1), before crossing swords with Burundi on March 30 (20:00 GMT + 1) at the Prince Moulay Abdallah Sports Complex in Rabat. Morocco is currently at the head of Group E (10 pts) ahead of its runner-up, Mauritania, by five points, while Burundi ranks third (4 pts) and the Central African Republic is the group’s red light (3pts).

Below is the list of the 24 players selected:

–Guardians: Yassine Bounou (Seville FC), Mounir El Kajoui (Hataysport), Anas Zniti (Raja de Casablanca) –Defenders: Soufiane Chakla (Getafe), Ghanem Saiss (Wolverhampton), Zouhair Feddal (Sporting Lisbon), Nayef Aguerd (Stade Rennais) – Full-backs:

Achraf Hakimi (Inter Milan), Issam Chebake (Yeni Malatyasport), Nabil Dirar (Club Brugge), Adam Massina (Watford) – Midfielders: Soufiane Amrabat (Fiorentina), Yahya Jabrane (Wydad de Casablanca), Aymane Berkouk (Frankfort) ), Oussama tannane (Vitesse Arnhem), Selim Amallah (Stadard Liège), Adel taarabet (Benfica) – Forwards:

Hakim Ziyech (Chelsea), Zakaria Boukhlal (Az Alkamaar), Soufiane Rahimi (Raja de Casablanca), Youssef El Arabi (Olympiakos), Youssef En-Nesyri (Sevilla FC), Ayoub El Kaabi (Wydad of Casablanca), Munir El Haddadi ( Sevilla FC).

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *